Thirty-teen: Damages at Your Fingertips

Thirty-teen: Damages at Your Fingertips

 

Sometime in the last decade or so, online dating has gone from being the stuff of Lifetime television drama-type stories to being a ubiquitous part of popular culture. It’s likely the advent of the smartphone which is to blame for this shift. Nowadays, simply download an app and you can swipe left or right anywhere and anytime during your busy day.

 

Soon, you won’t even have to have a smartphone to use the popular dating app, Tinder. According to recent news, Tinder is on the verge of releasing a desktop version of their app. This means that people with limited data on their cell phones and people who are not permitted to use cell phones while at work or school will still be able to look for love (or lust) throughout their day, anyway. Restrictions be damned.

 

Upon hearing of this development, I couldn’t help but roll my eyes. Finding myself single in my mid-thirties, I admit I have employed Tinder myself. In fact, my last two relationships were both “ignited” on Tinder (ha ha, see what I did there?). Unfortunately, neither of them lasted for the duration.

 

The thing about dating in your thirties is that it comes down to damages. It’s a veritable Island of Misfit Toys at this point in the game. Everyone is either divorced or never-married, and with either option comes along a nice package of traumas and horrors which has to some extent affected the person adversely. It becomes a game. Which damages can I tolerate, what can I work with?

 

I realize I can’t blame the medium for this state of affairs. Dating apps just bring people together and it’s not their fault that the pool is generally severely polluted by the time people hit their thirties. However, I’m not sure that I need more easy access to Tinder in my life. In fact, a while back, I had deleted the app from my phone, and I am pretty sure I will not be re-downloading it any time soon.

Leave a Reply

